Current Read: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

stieg larsson This has a pretty lengthy prologue but once you get past that I think that it’s worth it. I’m currently on the first page of Chapter 7.

***

UPDATE!

At first, I thought the novel was going to be, for the most part, about Lisbeth Salander; her work as a hacker, her past, and her relationships. But it turned out, that it was not quite the case with the first book. The plot was focused more on Mikael Blomkvist, his magazine Millenium, and the story of the Vanger family. The character of Lisbeth Salander surely played a great part in the discovery of the truth about the Vanger family as well as the Wennerstrom affair. However, her presence in the book was subdued for me. It was not until the latter half of the novel was she completely and directly related to Blomkvist and the Vanger family. It did not felt cramped; her presence was the turning point in Blomkvist’s pseudo-detective work.

Honestly, I assumed I was not going to like this book and that it would take me weeks to finish it because it would bore me. But I found a certain freshness to it that I attribute to a totally new setting. After the first hundred pages, I felt tired and put down the book. Then I simply resumed reading one afternoon and until after dinner I was still flipping through pages. All in all, it was a wonderful read. The twists and the long list of suspects made it difficult to pinpoint who was (or who were) the real culprit.

Leave a comment

